Women's Leadership Conference

Tiffin University Women's Leadership Conference logo
Tiffin University has cancelled all on campus events for the month of March which includes the Tiffin University Women's Leadership Conference on Tuesday, March 31. All registration fees will be refunded and sponsors will be contacted separately. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we appreciate your understanding. We hope to see you next year when the Women's Leadership Conference returns in 2021!

Tuesday, March 31, 2020 - 5 to 8 p.m.
Gillmor Student Center gym at Tiffin University

Keynote speakers: Ann Gaffigan and Dr. Anne Shadle

New Decade - Best you! Strategies for getting out of your own way and letting your best self out

Everyone is talking about the new decade and what they will change about themselves. This year’s speakers believe it is time to let your best self OUT. Ann Gaffigan and Dr. Anne Shadle are best friends who have tackled life alongside each other for the past two decades: through track & field and cross country competitions, as teammates and competitors, winning NCAA and Olympic Trials titles, through embarrassing seasons, being sponsored as professional athletes and then being dropped, and having an immeasurable amount of fun (and shedding a few tears) along the way.

After their athletic careers ended, they embarked on different paths. But, through it all they learned to apply the tough lessons of achieving peak performance at work and balancing it with a healthy lifestyle, with family, friends and volunteer work. This year’s conference will focus on the power of networking and finding the best of yourself to unleash on the world.

For more information: Vickie Wilkins, wilkinsvm@tiffin.edu

Event Registration

Reservations are required to be a part of the event.

LIMITED SEATING: The event is open to the first 100 students and 100 professionals who register and will fill to capacity.

Professionals $10 per person

Students Free (must be a current TU student)

Event Agenda

5:00 p.m. – Participants arrive – salad dinner buffet, networking and raffle baskets

5:30 p.m. – Welcome and Introductions – Ms. Claire Johansen, Tiffin University Board of Trustee Chair

5:40 p.m. – “Each One, Reach One” award presentation – Ms. Alfreeda Goff, Executive Search Associate - Spelman Johnson

5:50 p.m. – Whole Person Assessment, Dr. Bonnie Tiell

6:00 p.m. – President Schumacher’s Personal Wellness Report

6:15 p.m. – Introduction of Workshop Leaders– Ann Gaffigan and Dr. Anne Shadle

6:20 p.m. – Workshop Begins

6:50 p.m. – Break

7:00 p.m. – Workshop Continues

8:00 p.m. – Workshop ends, raffle baskets drawn

Sponsorship Opportunities

Traditionally, over 200 individuals male and female students, alumni and community leaders from all sectors of business and government participated in this community event focusing on leadership development. In order to maintain the event, sponsorship is requested to offset related expenses.

Please consider a sponsorship for the 2020 Women’s Leadership Seminar through monetary donations or a gift in kind.

To sponsor this event or for more information please contact: Rahat Ahmed, ahmedr@tiffin.edu, Dr. Bonnie Tiell, btiell@tiffin.edu or Vickie Wilkins, wilkinsvm@tiffin.edu.

Title Sponsor - $5,000
Includes exclusive rights to identify name of your organization with the event; logo on participant giveaways; program recognition; opportunity to address conference attendees; website presence

Reception Sponsor - $3,000
Includes signage on food and beverage tables, program recognition and verbal recognition

Corporate Sponsor - $1,000
Includes program recognition and verbal recognition

Breakout Sponsor - $500
Includes verbal recognition prior to the session

Student Sponsor - $10
Sponsor a student(s) to attend this event.

Gift in Kind | Door prizes, participant gift bags, etc.
Includes program recognition

Each One, Reach One Award

The Tiffin University Women’s Leadership Conference is intended to be a driving force for ambitious women who realize the power of networking, embrace life‐long learning, and are seeking higher levels of achievement in their personal and professional lives. The conference is open to Tiffin University students, faculty, staff and alumni as well as individuals from and surrounding communities.

The “Each One, Reach One” award is presented to a TU alumni, a community member and faculty/staff member with these qualifications:

  • Committed to inspiring others through service, education, teamwork, and compassion.
  • Demonstrated volunteer service to their community and society.
  • Able to receive the award at the conference, barring any extenuating circumstances.

Each One, Reach One Winner 2014: Alfreeda Goff
Each One, Reach One Winners 2015: Jenna White, Lauren Caminiti, Hayley Coppola
Each One, Reach One Winners 2017: Jill Gosche, Melissa Coe, JoElle Hall
Each One, Reach One Winners 2018: Dr. Bonnie Tiell, Marti Jerew, Pat DeMonte

Each One, Reach One Winners 2019: Susan Bowers, Marcia Miller, Elizabeth Thuning, Nancy Sullivan

2020 Each One, Reach One Award Recipient – Lynn Detterman, President & CEO of Mercy Hospital

Keynote Speakers

Ann Gaffigan
Ann Gaffigan- Gaffigan set the American record at the 2004 Olympic trials in the Steeple Chase. The only problem is that the event didn’t become an Olympic sport for women until four years later. After retiring as a professional athlete in 2008, Gaffigan was asked to serve on the Athlete’s Advisory Committee (AAC) for USA Track and Field. As an executive board member, Gaffigan currently serves as secretary for the AAC.
After retiring as a professional athlete, Gaffigan started and ran her own technology company for twelve years before becoming the Chief Technology Officer and a partner for National Land Realty. She is currently the Director of Technology Operations at Dimensional Innovations, an experience design, build and technology firm in Overland Park, KS. Gaffigan was a broadcaster (color analyst) for four consecutive Kansas Relays and is a motivational speaker for organizations, conferences and chapters of Girls Inc., from California to Indiana. As a mom, executive and entrepreneur, Gaffigan is actively involved in her community in Kansas City, especially with non-profit organizations that empower girls and women such as “Girls Who Code” and “WIN for KC.”


Anne Shadle
Dr. Anne Shadle – Dr. Anne Shadle, a former professional athlete, is the president-appointed Committee Chair for Psychological Services for USA Track and Field (USATF). Currently based in Dayton, Ohio, she is also a member of the USATF Athlete Advisory Committee and the USOC's Sport Psychology registry as a certified consultant in Sport Psychology (CMPC). Clients include the International Association of Athletics Federation, USATF, USA Baseball and the United States Airforce Department of Aeromedical Human Performance.
Shadle is credited as one of the industry’s preeminent sports psychologists for athletic development and human performance. Key research addresses key factors beyond talent, physical ability and technical training that impacts athletes’ success. She advocates the importance of emotional and mental traits critical to peak performance such as intrinsic motivation, the ability to self-regulate, sustained grit and perseverance and a support system filled with positive relationships.

Special Guest

Alfreeda Goff – One of the most highly respected women in intercollegiate athletics, is an associate for Spelman Johnson, a consulting and search firm for higher education. Goff retired in 2015 after 17 years at the Horizon League where she served as senior associate commissioner and chief of staff. Prior to the Horizon League, she served as the Director of Athletics at Virginia State University and as an administrator and track coach at the University of Pittsburgh.