Advisory Council to the President

Advisory Council to the President

As CCU grew in scope and depth, the President’s Advisory Council (PAC) was founded in lieu of the steering committee. The PAC provided the structure of three councils under University leadership to develop CCU-focused programming in all areas of the University.

The Council promotes and sustains the institutional commitment to inclusive excellence by creating an environment focused on student success, serving as the primary council to the President.

Mission (What you do, who you are and what is the benefit?)

Our commitment fosters inclusive excellence through celebrating cultural uniqueness in an environment that is welcoming, understanding of different perspectives, affirming and safe for all populations. The collaborative strategic alignment of the Councils for Academic Experience, Expansion of Opportunity and Talent & Engagement cultivates the opportunity to support and maintain an educational and working environment which promotes a commitment to inclusive excellence.

Vision (How the organization will look once the Mission is fulfilled.)

From initiative to commitment – Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness.

Commitment (Our Promise)

Tiffin University graduates, faculty and staff, regardless of their area of specialty, are innovative problem solvers who can leverage diversity of any type to work effectively with people who are different from them and produce innovative ideas.

As mentioned above, the President’s Advisory Council is divided into three distinctive sub-councils each of which is chaired by a member of the President’s Advisory Council as follows:

Academic Experience – Dr. Kristina Collins, Chair
The mission of the Academic Experience sub-council is to assist faculty in preparing cultural course materials, provide assessments to gather data about students’ ability to be innovative problem solvers who can leverage diversity, facilitate and assess academic student cultural immersion experiences, facilitate faculty trainings in cultural competency, and communicate CCU philosophies and programming to the campus and greater community.  The Academic Experience Council, in concert with the academic school Deans, will provide oversight and ensure alignment between General Education, Celebrating Cultural Uniqueness, and academic school core curriculum.

Compliance – Ensure the policies and procedures are in compliance with federal and state legislation, regulation, and case law pursuant to Title IX, Title VI, ADA, Title VII, Pregnancy & Parenting, NCAA, ODHE, and other applicable laws and/or associations.

Accountability – Cultivate and sustain systemic climate assessment by administering and utilizing survey results for effective programming and training development across campus

Resources – Maintain Resource Center as a resource for the individuals impacted by sexual misconduct, discrimination, retaliation, pregnancy & parenting and applicable societal needs

Education – Provide educational programming and celebrations around awareness related to but not limited to sexual misconduct, discrimination, retaliation, culture, respect/hostile language, bystander intervention, consent, diversity, hazing, bullying, healthy relationships, etc.

Support – Commitment to maintaining an inclusive, nondiscriminatory, safe, and welcoming environment.


Talent and Engagement – Ms. Nadia Lewis, Chair
The mission of the Talent and Engagement sub-council is to serve the needs of our diverse staff, faculty and student members by creating an inclusive environment for all to obtain a rewarding and enriched experience.  The Talent Engagement sub-council celebrates the diversity of our faculty, staff, students and the volunteers and partners with whom we work. We are committed to fostering a diverse pool of candidates for jobs, to promote diversity in recruitment and hiring, and engaging in thoughtful dialogue that nurtures the understanding across differences. We value the importance of providing training and development, mentoring and additional resources to encourage a campus community where all feel welcome and valued. Our goal is to be a support network in creating an environment focused on the individual experience.


Lillian Schumacher, Ed.D.
Founding Member, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness

B.S., Economics, Allegheny College, Meadville, PA
M.A., Organization Development, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
Ed.D., Leadership Studies, Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH

Why I'm culturally unique

Dr. Lillian Schumacher

Peter Holbrook, Ph.D.
Provost & Chief Academic Officer
Founding Member, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness

AA (Honors), Marketing, Lakeshore Technical College, Cleveland, WI
B.A., (Cum Laude), Business, Cardinal Stritch University, Milwaukee, WI
M.S., Management, Cardinal Stritch University, Milwaukee, WI
Ph.D., Leadership Studies, Cardinal Stritch University, Milwaukee, WI

Why I'm culturally unique

Dr. Peter Holbrook

Kristina L Collins, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Academic Excellence, Distinctiveness & Effectiveness - Academic Experience Council
Founding Member, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness

B.A., Psychology Indiana University 
M.S.Ed., Adult Education & Training, Indiana University
Ph.D., Business Administration, Trident University

Why I'm culturally unique

Kristina Collins

Nadia Lewis
Assistant Vice President for Human Resources - Talent & Engagement Council
Member, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness

B.S. in International Business and Nutrition from the University of Cincinnati
M.S. in Organizational Leadership with a focus degree in Human Resource Management and
     Strategic & Global Leadership from Colorado State University Global Campus
Certified Facilitator for Fierce as well as Bridges Out of Poverty; SHRM-CP.

Why I'm culturally unique

Julia K. Porter, Ph.D.
Project Manager, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness
Founding Member, Celebrating CulTUral Uniqueness  

B.S., English Education, Indiana University/Purdue University-Indianapolis (IUPUI)
M.A., English Literature, Brooklyn College, Brooklyn, NY
Ph.D., Global Leadership, Indiana Tech, Fort Wayne, IN

Why I'm culturally unique

Julia Porter