COVID-19 UPDATE: Tiffin University cancels facial covering policy.  Read more details.  Give to the Student Emergency Fund.

faculty award recipient with two college leaders

TU Announces Faculty Award Recipients 2019

Tiffin University, Tiffin, OH–Tiffin University Provost and Chief Academic Officer Dr. Peter Holbrook presented five (5) awards to full-time faculty members on Friday, Oct. 18 at its annual Faculty Dinner. The five awards presented were: Excellence in Teaching; Excellence in Scholarship; Service to Campus; Service to Community and the Provost Award.

Excellence in Teaching Award
2019 Recipient(s) – Dr. George Miller and Dr. Stephanie Opfer

Excellence in Teaching Award Criteria: stimulates intellectual curiosity in students, engage students in the learning process; engages students in the enterprise of learning and has a life-long impact; has concern for the welfare and future of students; has a solid command of the subject(s) taught; produces creative and imaginative presentations, excellent communication skills, and learning styles; and develops new courses with innovative pedagogical approaches.

Excellence in Scholarship Award
2019 Recipient – Dr. Lisa Kahle-Piasecki

Excellence in Scholarship Award Criteria: regional reputation in the field, including presentations; originality of research; published articles, book chapters; presentations at national conferences; quality of scholarly or creative achievements; contribution to the community in an intellectual capacity; role in furthering the research; collaborative nature of the research (colleagues & students).

Service to Campus Award
2019 Recipient – Dr. Michelle Maus

Service to Campus Award Criteria: assistance with campus and University-wide events; contribution to student service programs (student affairs); contributions to student retention; active involvement in committee work; evidence of faculty governance; student advising above and beyond normally acknowledged; service in academic professional organizations.

Service to Community Award
2019 Recipient – Professor Brad Rees

Service to Community Award Criteria: volunteer work with public and non-profit; contribution to student community service programs; enhancing the quality of life in the community through community service; consulting for small business, domestic and multi-national corporations; leadership within the community (Rotary, Kiwanis, The United Way, etc.).

Provost Award
2019 Recipient – Dr. Pete Piraino

Provost Award Criteria: exemplary contributions to TU as a full-time faculty member; a steward to the institution in all aspects of the Boyer Model; continuous demonstration of going above and beyond for the betterment of TU.